Mackerel with steamed vegetables

Mackerel and steamed vegetables

Mackerel and steamed vegetables

Today was yet another long “preparation for my upcoming move” kind of a day that has involved a lot of walking, a lot of fetching and carrying, and not much free time  available for the preparation of food.

I breakfasted on a fruit medley, lunched on a salad that was tossed into a bowl with such a sense of disorganised urgency that I truly cannot for the life of me remember what was actually in it, and filled in the snack sized gaps with plums, apricots, apples and pears.

As I closed out the last of the day’s activities at 5:30 pm, a full 12 hours after breakfast had been eaten, I was determined to dine on something a bit more substantial.

The problem was, of course, that determined I may well have been, but I was also equally exhausted. Luckily for me, a quick and easy dinner practically leapt off the shelves at my local food emporium and into my shopping basket. 

And so it came to  pass that dinner was 2 smoked mackerel fillets, complemented with steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrot. The plate was finished off with a simple and yet decorative dusting of smoked Spanish paprika, a good squirt of lemon juice, and a well balanced drizzle of sesame oil.

Satsumas  were an excellent choice for dessert fruit, jasmine tea the prefect after-dinner beverage. 

Rest assured, mes braves, that so fortified, I’ll be ready for another shift when the ol’birdies next start a-cheepin’….

Leave a Reply

