Homeward bound – Day 2, Sunday 24th. August, 2014

A life on the ocean wave...

A life on the ocean wave…

Due to a potentially unhealthy mix of excitement and nerves, I was awake at 6:00 am – a full 2 hours before the on-board restaurant opened to begin serving breakfast.

Luckily I still had a few pistachios left to fall back on, and so I snacked on them until the time came to go up to deck 8 and get a proper meal inside of me.

As so often happens on a road trip, unless you actually have the capacity to physically carry everything you intend to eat with you, you simply have to be prepared to compromise your purest Paleo principles up to a point.

This was obviously going to be the case here, so I chose the next best option – sticking as closely to the core concepts of Paleo as possible, but avoiding the obvious no-nos such as the juices, dairy, cereals and breads.

This was, however, a Danish boat, and if there is one thing that my Danish cousins excel at, it’s knowing what to do with the flesh of a good pig, and so I was able to assemble a pretty damn fine breakfast plate with various tasty cold cuts, a handsome looking liver pâté, and boiled eggs.

Did I say plate, as in the singular form? My bad. That should read plates – the plural form of the noun, for I returned to the buffet on more than one occasion. Throw in a pot of excellent coffee and a sea view, and I sauntered out of the restaurant a half hour later set up for the day.

Breakfast on-board

Breakfast on-board

Some 3 and a bit hours later, the boat docked, and I strolled through a curiously deserted passport control, and in to the arms of my womenfolk, who, bless them, had made the trip from home to meet me off the boat.

Not only that, but they had also come tooled up with a splendid array of fruit for us to scoff on the train home, as well as a bucketful of walnuts and cashews. Happy days.

Once home, and after a prolonged and rather emotional reunion with the aforementioned feline lunatic (see “Day 1”), we went out on a shopping expedition, and came back with cold smoked salmon.

Add in a bit of lemon, plenty of white pepper, and a few vegetables simply prepared, and you had the makings of a homecoming meal fit to grace anyone’s table.

Homecoming meal - cold smoked salmon

Homecoming meal – cold smoked salmon

Leave a Reply

