Prosciutto, smoked salmon, and poached eggs

Prosciutto, smoked salmon, and poached eggs

Prosciutto, smoked salmon, and poached eggs

As part of my fitness regime, I usually go on 2 bike rides every day.

The first is an early morning run, on week days starting around 5 am, a 12 km. loop around town. By starting out so early not only do I miss out on a great deal of traffic on the city’s cycle paths, I also get to see the city waking up.

I think a city really only tells you who it is before 7 am – thereafter the mask and the make-up goes on, and the city’s real face is hidden behind a façade.

At the weekend, however, my timetable is a bit more forgiving, and so I set off slightly later, and ride further, but at a more genteel pace.

Whereas on a weekday I would snatch a bowl of fruit on my return, come Saturday I like to spend just a little more time, and put together a more substantial plate.

This is one of my favourites, for when I want a little more than plain old bacon.

After a long autumnal bike ride, this really hits the spot, and what’s more it’s ready in under 5 minutes from when you walk in the door…


 

Prosciutto, smoked salmon, and poached eggs

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 3 slices Prosciutto Crudo
  • 3 slices cold smoked salmon
  • 2 medium eggs
  • plenty of black pepper

Method

  • Arrange the prosciutto and the smoked salmon slices on your breakfast plate.
  • Poach your eggs – I use the super fast microwave method, they’re ready in around 90 seconds. Place on the plate.
  • Dose liberally with black pepper. Serve, with a nice mug of green tea.
One thought on “Prosciutto, smoked salmon, and poached eggs

  1. Pingback: Prosciutto Rolls With Smoked Salmon and Hot Prawn Parcels | PALEOVIRTUS

Leave a Reply

