Masala Roast Cauliflower

Masala Roast Cauliflower

Masala Roast Cauliflower

This was one of those spur of the moment experiments, prompted by the fact that as much as we love cauliflower in this family, we were getting a bit too familiar with it riced, steamed, or mashed.

I simply tossed it in some flavoured oil, and stuck it in a hot oven. Turned out really well, actually…

Masala Roast Cauliflower

  • Servings: 3 - 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower, broken down into florets
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 3 tsp garam masala
  • Lemon segments

Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 200°C.
  • Mix the oil and the spices thoroughly.
  • Place the cauliflower florets and flavoured oil in a large mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly, ensuring that all the nooks and crannies of the cauliflower are well coated by the spiced oil.
  • Place the oiled cauliflower in a lightly greased baking tray. Place the baking tray in the hot oven, and bake until golden and tender, about 45 minutes or so – see Notes.
  • Serve, with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Notes

We like our cauliflower to retain a bit of a crunch, so if you like yours a tad more tender, you might want to experiment with baking it for longer in a slightly cooler oven, or par-boiling / blanching it first.

Posed Perfection

2 thoughts on “Masala Roast Cauliflower

  1. givemommyabeer

    Looks delish! I have to tell you, I was talking with my dad the other day about your blog (he is on the paleo diet and I suggested he should like your FB page). Anyway, I was telling him it’s funny because the only time I get to read the blogs I follow is early in the morning and whenever I read your blog I get hungry! I never thought I’d be hungry for salmon cakes and cauliflower at 8:30 a.m., but here I sit. Thanks for sharing all your delicious recipes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

