Strawberry and Blueberry Mousse

Strawberry and blueberry mousse

Strawberry and blueberry mousse

When you go Paleo, there are some  “firsts“, culinary milestones, if you will, that you know you’ll never forget.

Game-changing, out-with-the-old-in-with-the-new moments, when a new recipe delivered everything you dared to hope for, and then some, adding a cherry on top for good measure.

The first time you fried with coconut oil. The first time you made zoodles. Your first batch of cauliflower rice.

Your first Paleo bread. That lazy Sunday morning when you first experimented with wheat-free pancakes.

The moment your first Paleo cake came out of the oven. The revelation that you can make incredible cookies with just banana and dessicated coconut.

I’ve now added another parting of the clouds, choir of trumpet wielding angels giving a rousing rendition of the “Hallelujah” Chorus event to that list – my first close encounter of the whipped coconut cream kind.

I’d read about it, of course, but had taken reports of it with a bucket full of salt. Too good to be true, for sure. No sense wasting time and money on it.

Until the other evening. I was cooking for myself alone, and was in the mood for a dessert, and thought what the heck, nothing ventured, and all that.

I bought two of my favourite berries, straw and blue, so that if I ended up with a watery sludge, I would at least have a tasty, watery sludge.

Well, I can now happily report that not only does this recipe result in a light, fluffy mousse, it results in a light, fluffy mousse that is so stable consistency wise that it retains its fluffiness even after 2 days in the fridge – kind, thoughtful husband / dad that I am I saved a portion for Mrs. Paleovirtus and Paleovirtus Jr.

I was concerned that sooner or later the mousse would “deflate” as the trapped air bled out, but amazingly no, it hasn’t. If anything, it seems to hold its consistency and shape better, and for a longer time, than its cow’s milk-cream based rivals.

I think I’ll start a campaign to have January the 17th. made “World Paleo Fruit Mousse” day.

You heard it here first…

Strawberry and Blueberry Mousse

Ingredients

  • 250g strawberries
  • 125g blueberries
  • 250ml coconut cream
  • 2 tbsp honey

Method

  • Cut the strawberries up into smaller pieces. Place in a mixing bowl with the blueberries, coconut cream, and honey.
  • Using a hand held / immersion / stick blender, blitz the contents of the bowl until you have a smooth, even purée.
  • Continue to process the purée, bringing the blade of the blender slightly out of the bowl in order to pull and fold air into the purée.  Continue to do so until the mixture takes on a fixed, fluffy consistency, similar to that of whipped cow’s milk cream.
  • Transfer the bowl to the fridge, and allow it to chill to your taste.
  • Remove the bowl from the fridge, and spoon the mousse into serving bowls. Serve.

8 thoughts on “Strawberry and Blueberry Mousse

  1. dtkb29

    I absolutely love the beginning of this post. My first zoodle and cauliflower rice experiences over a year ago were game changing. So was the day I first made mashed cauliflower, FYI! Can’t wait to try out this new mousse.

    Like

    Reply
    1. paleovirtus Post author

      Thanks, glad you liked it. 🙂

      How could I have forgotten cauliflower mash!

      We first had it when Mrs. Paleovirtus started eating LCHF quite a while before I started eating Paleo.

      It was my first hint that life without potatoes was possible… 🙂

      Hope you get on OK with the mousse… 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. paleovirtus Post author

      Hi there.

      Glad you like my blog. 🙂

      It took Mrs. Paleovirtus a while to leave sugar behind, but she got there in the end. I was lucky – I didn’t have that much of a sweet tooth to start with! 🙂

      Now we find that the odd date, bit of fruit, or drop of honey is more than enough.

      Hope you find plenty of things here to inspire you – there really is a great on-line Paleo community out there…! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

